Our Staff

cherie privett

Admin
admin@newhopechristian.org

Cherie lives in Princeton with her husband Kevin and their dog, Harley. They have three adult sons. She loves to spend her time painting furniture and crafting! 

 

Cheryl Diaz

Financial Director
cheryl@newhopechristian.org

Cheryl lives in Wylie, Tx with her husband, John.  They have three kids:  Cole, Madison & Sawyer.  She is a big fan of working out, running and gardening.

 

 

 

Michelle Cox

Finance Team
michelle@newhopechristian.org

Michelle lives in Wylie with her husband Dirk and their kids, Brianna and Zachary. She loves to spend time with close friends and family, and in her spare time, she enjoys exercising or curling up with a good mystery novel.

 

Betsy Mills

Finance Team

Betsy and her husband Scott have raised their 4 children in Wylie. They have three boys: Garrett, Noah & Luke, and one girl: Maribeth. Betsy has a tremendous heart for to help other. She is a connecter, constantly pulling together pieces of her relational puzzle pieces in beautiful efforts to take care of her community. Betsy is known for creating unique decor pieces and enjoys relaxing and having fun with her people.

 
angel.jpg

Angel Bass

Creative Design
angel@newhopechristian.org

Angel lives in Wylie, TX with her husband, AJ and their six kids: Aidan, Alijah, Aiyla, Aria, Amiya and Addison. In her "one minute" of spare time, she enjoys reading, cheesy disaster movies, and all things technology.

 

 

Mindie Runnels

Creative Design
mindie@newhopechristian.org

Mindie lives in Wylie, TX with her husband, Joshua. They have three daughters: August, Harper and Shiloh, and a son: Judah. She loves friends, DIY projects, and cereal.

 

 

Jill Carter

Creative Design
jill@newhopechristian.org

Jill lives in Lucas with her husband Josh. They have a son, Jude, and two dogs. She is a caring friend, a crafter extraordinaire and a talented creative. If you have an idea, Jill is the girl to make it happen. She also has some pretty legit dance moves. 

 

Jake Vicknair

Wylie Campus Pastor
jake@newhopechristian.org

Jake lives in Wylie, TX with his wife, Christine. They love hanging out with their sons, Ethan & Ty. Jake spent several years in missions and traveling internationally. He’s a great story-teller and loves to laugh.

 

 

AJ Bass

Worship Pastor | Arts & Tech Director
aj@newhopechristian.org

AJ lives in Wylie, TX with his wife, Angel, and their six kids: Aidan, Alijah, Aiyla, Aria, Amiya and Addison (the "A" team). He loves playing board games with his family, songwriting, baseball, and movies.

 

 

Philip Causey

Youth Pastor
philip@newhopechristian.org

Philip lives in Wylie, TX with his wife, Audrey and daughter Ellie. Philip grew up in Taylorsville, NC. In 2009, he moved to California for a Discipleship Training School with YWAM, where he had the privilege of experiencing the nations and leading teams into cross cultural outreach. He loves coffee, fashion, sports and making people laugh.

 
Jesse-B&W.jpg

Jesse Watts

Children's Pastor
jesse@newhopechristian.org

Jesse lives in Wylie with his wife Kasha and son Justus. After pastoring a small church in Kansas for seven years, he moved to Texas to help with the launch of the New Hope Lucas Campus. Jesse has an unrelenting passion to foster a culture of deep love, enthusiasm, relationship, and worship.

 

Lynn Burgess

Equipping Pastor
lynn@newhopechristian.org

Lynn lives in Lucas, TX with her husband, Stan. They have four grown kids and 12 grandkids.  Lynn loves being around people...lots of people! She is passionate about seeing them realize their God given design as they develop into Kingdom leaders.

 

 

zac wetegrove

Facilities Manager & Missions Coordinator
zac@newhopechristian.org

Zac is an adventurer from Uvalde, Tx. He moved to the Wylie area when he married his wife, Melodie. He loves hanging out with their son, Summit, and traveling to new places. Zac is a dreamer, never lacking for new ideas, and has a gift for improving the environment around him. Also, he may just be able to take Jill in a dance-off. 

 

Brett Tilford

Lucas Campus Pastor
brett@newhopechristian.org

Brett hails from Wylie TX, where he lives with his wife Maggie and three kids: Eve, Dax and Oak. He loves 3-letter names, running, solitude, conversations over coffee, and reading.His favorite authors are Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Marilynne Robinson, James Cone, Karl Barth, Dallas Willard, Sarah Coakley, and Thomas Merton

 

Keith Spurgin

Lead Pastor
keith@newhopechristian.org

Keith lives in Wylie, TX with his wife, Susan.  They have four grown kids and four more by marriage.  He loves cycling, travel, reading, and watching sports. His passion is seeing people engage their God-given potential.  Keith and Susan's first years in ministry were spent in Hong Kong, China before moving back to this area and beginning New Hope.  Since then, Keith started The Growth Resourcing Group (GRG) which mentors leaders of organizations to develop healthy cultures that positively influence people’s lives and change the world for good.